Micaela Hoppe


Some reviews

"Micaela Hoppes music is expressive and emotionally strong. It's not often you hear new music with such a melodious tone as this. The instrumentation is safely made, and the orchestra's regular motor driving contrasted nicely in relation to the soloist..."

From Dala-demokraten 2009-05-25 about "Till klarhet" (eng. Insight).

"The piece and the composer was a pleasant acquaintance for me. With a traditional tonal music, she naturally progressing into new ideas, one after the other. It is as if the music's inner context makes it all stick together. Fascinating!"

From NorrBottens-kuriren 2010-10-11 about "I en gåtfull tid" (eng. In a time of Mysteries).

About Micaela Hoppe

Micaela Hoppe (born in 1965) lives in Västra Ämtervik, Värmland, Sweden. She grew up in Jakobsberg, a suburb of Stockholm. She has always been composing through the years.  At the age of 19 she had "Scirocco" - her first piece for symphonie orchestra - premiered.


She wrote the wind quintet 'Dagg och regn' (Dew and Rain) in 2007 for the Bergslagen Chamber Orchestra. It was performed again at the Fredrikhavn Chamber Music Festival later that year.


Composer of the Year

In 2008 she received the award Composer of the Year from the Bergslagen Chamber Orchestra, which meant performances of several chamber music pieces in addition to 'Hav' (Ocean) for symphony orchestra. This also became the starting point for several commissions for orchestral works and chamber music.


Film music

In 2012 she received a grant from Tillväxtverket (the Swedish Agency for Economic and Regional Growth) for the development of projects with film music.


In cooperation with filmmaker Evelyn Frankel they arranged the exhibition Frankel & Hoppe in April 2014. The exhibition showed their united works, for instance the art video project 'Okänt land' (Land of the Unknown) work in progress. With support from Region Värmland and in cooperation with Konstfrämjandet Värmland 'Okänt land' was completed and the premiere took place in March 2016 at Värmland Museum.


I Solisti Veneti

Out of 140 contributions from female composers from 26 different countries, the italian chamber orchestra I Solisti Veneti chosed to premiere Micaela Hoppes 'Blue Mountains Shimmer in Backlight' on concert at the international womens day on the 8th of March 2016 in Padova, Italy.  This event brought great attention in media to Micaela Hoppe as a composer.


2016 and ahead

In November 2016 M. Hoppe recieved an award on 10.000 SEK from the Bengt Axelsson culture foundation with the motivation "For her art to transform Värmland into beautiful music". The beneficiaries are chosen by the association Värmlandslitteratur.


Micaela Hoppe works right now in a major project together with the violinist /composer Lars Audun Hadland, where Dante The Divine Comedy will be set into music.

(January 2017)